Home Page

National Curriculum

2023-4 Curriculum Map

The International Primary Curriculum


The IPC is a comprehensive, thematic, creative curriculum for children aged five to 11. We follow the International Primary Curriculum topics across the school on a rolling programme. The whole school follow the same topics (to allow for theme days and weeks) but work is differentiated to children's abilities and experiences. 


The IPC covers many of the same subjects as the primary school National Curriculum. Using the IPC approach, children develop knowledge, skills and understanding in each subject area:


  • Language arts (including English)
  • Maths
  • Science
  • ICT and computing
  • Technology
  • History
  • Geography
  • Art
  • Music
  • PE
  • Society


IPC Units of Learning

The curriculum subjects are taught through individual ‘Units of Learning’, which are topic-based, and include engaging themes like Animals, Active Planet, Buildings, Young Entrepreneurs, and Who Am I?


The aim of this approach is for primary school children to understand how the different curriculum areas interlink, and for them to make connections across subjects to form a stronger understanding of the learning: so, for example, the Active Planets unit could include geography, history, science, languages and more.


There are three ‘mileposts’ of learning, for children aged five to seven, seven to nine, and nine to 11. These roughly correspond to Key Stage 1 (Years 1 and 2), lower Key Stage 2 (Years 3 and 4), and upper Key Stage 2 (Years 5 and 6).  At Vermont, we focus on Mileposts two and three.


Each milepost contains a number of units of learning developed especially for that age range. Every unit also includes an international aspect, to help children develop a sense of ‘international mindedness.’


Personal Goals

Through its units of learning, the IPC also aims to help children develop character traits that will equip them for life now, through education and in the future.

These eight personal goals are:


There are no formal exams for children following the IPC – although children who follow the curriculum in academies in England still have to take SATs in Year 2 (due to be made non-statutory, so schools will be able to choose whether to adminster them or not, by 2023) and Year 6. 


Instead, the IPC focuses on schools developing their own ways of assessing children’s knowledge, skills and understanding. These may be informal, such as assessed classwork (e.g. ‘Can you draw a map of your hometown for a friend who’s visiting from abroad?’) or quizzes, or formal, such as end-of-unit tests.


Through the success criteria (or ‘rubrics’), teachers can identify the learning stage of each skill in each subject at each age phase. Teachers will assess whether a child is:

  • Beginning
  • Developing
  • Mastering


There’s also a focus on self-assessment and peer assessment. Children are often asked to assess their knowledge using the following statements:

  • ‘I’m getting used to it’
  • ‘I’m getting better’
  • ‘I’m really getting it!’

If you have any questions about our curriculum, please contact the school office.